Where I Teach Wednesday!

Linking up with Blog Hoppin’ again today for Day 3 of Teacher Week! Thanks for visiting!

Well, there’s good news and bad news for today’s post. The bad news is that my classroom is nowhere NEAR done since they just finished waxing the floors yesterday. The good news is that my kiddos don’t come for another week!! Thank goodness!

So since I can’t really show you too many pictures yet, plan to come back in the next week or so for a finished classroom tour! But for now, these will have to do:

This is my Pinterest-inspired Writer’s Workshop pencil that allows me to quickly see where each student is in the writing process.

My essential questions for September are posted near the door to my classroom. We post new questions every month!

Welcome to 5th Grade!

The bulletin board for my first unit, all about God’s Great Universe

This is the view of my classroom from the door. Yeah, not so pretty right now!

I love how big my classroom is, especially compared to a few others in our school! There are also tons of windows (there are two more off to the right of the picture!) which is both good and bad – the room is so bright and cheery when it is sunny, but that sun sure gets hot. It also makes it difficult to see the projector screen because of the glare. I also wish I had more wall space. I have so much more that I’d like to hang up but 2 of my walls are windows and a 3rd wall is mostly closets! But overall, I really enjoy my classroom.

So where exactly do I teach? I teach at a small Christian school in Pittsburgh, PA. We rent out space from a church in the South Hills. My first year out of college I spent subbing and was hired at this school to teach 5th grade the following year. I am getting ready to start my 4th year of having my own classroom – crazy!! I am so thankful to be in this amazing school with the best co-workers and students 🙂

Remember, check back soon for the updated classroom tour!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nikki Jones
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 21:11:00

    I love your pencil to keep track of where everyone is in the writing process! This is a great visual and easy to manage system. Thanks for sharing your classroom. I found your blog on the blog hop and I am your newest follower. Would love for you to check out my blog Sent From My iPad.

    Reply

    • wordsiwouldsay
      Aug 22, 2012 @ 21:41:44

      Thanks Nikki!! The pencil system works great – and it helps the kids as well, especially when they get to the “edit” stage, so they know who else needs to peer edit 🙂 Can’t wait to check out your blog too!

      Kim

      Reply

  2. TheBargainBabe
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 19:54:24

    You do have a nice big room. Love your pencil chart. 🙂 Thanks for sharing the photos.

    Reply

Leave a comment