Therapeutic Thursday!

Wow, it’s been a busy week. I am currently helping with my church’s summer drama program and of course the 4 performances happen to be this week. I have been going into my classroom around 9 or 9:30 (or earlier!) and not getting home until 9 or 10 at night! Man, I’m definitely CRASHING on Sunday!! My kiddos don’t come until Wednesday so thank goodness I have an extra two days next week 🙂

I have been slowly making progress in my classroom – yay! In order to gain some more wall space, I used the back of two bookcases pushed together – covered them with paper, added a border, and now I have a new “bulletin board”. Thanks to Pinterest for that idea! Unfortunately our big laminator has been out of commission for a week or so, which means I will have even more to do once it’s back up and running, but I have found plenty of stuff to do in the meantime of course!

So today is Therapeutic Thursday…and I could use a good dose of “therapy” tonight!! I got into my classroom around 8:30, had a meeting this morning from 9-12, then worked in my classroom until 3:30. I then had to run to church for a dress rehearsal/cast dinner, and finally had coffee with a friend who was visiting from out of town – and here I am, home at 10:30! But I couldn’t go to bed without adding my post for the day 🙂

When I get home from a long and exhausting day of work, here’s what I like to do. First thing I do is change into comfy clothes, like my sorority sweatpants or comfy shorts.

Next I check personal email, Facebook, and Google Reader, where I catch up on all of my favorite teacher blogs 🙂

Then, when the hubby gets home, we either make dinner or go out to eat, and spend the rest of the evening together!

 

I love to watch TV to unwind in the evenings. We don’t have cable – our antenna serves us well 🙂 My favorite “guilty pleasure” shows are Revenge, The Bachelor/Bachelorette/Bachelor Pad, and Glee. I also love Once Upon a Time, Modern Family, and Parks and Recreation. I watch Master Chef, Bunheads, The Glee Project, and a few other shows on Hulu. Love that site!

 

I play volleyball every Tuesday night at a local church, which is a great way to unwind and get out all of that pent up frustration after a bad day!

Finally, I love to spend 15-30 minutes reading in bed before I actually go to sleep. This is one of the most relaxing parts of my day 🙂 Right now I am reading through Lemony Snicket’s “A Series of Unfortunate Events” – my students love love LOVED this series last year, so I decided to see what all of the hype was about. They are great books!! I am on #10 and look forward to reading a little more every night 🙂

So that’s how I like to relax after a long day at work. Thanks for stopping by; see you tomorrow for Freebie Friday!!

Leave a Reply

