Update: Facebook Fun

I realized that I never gave an update to our Number the Stars Facebook character analysis!

The students LOVED this project and I can’t wait to implement it for other novels we read 🙂

To finish up the Facebook page, each group decided on something their character would write on each of the other characters’ “wall”. They typed this up and we attached them to the page, so each character has a wall post from the other three. They were so creative!

They also typed up their list of character traits and support (a quote/phrase from the book) and we included this under “Analysis” on the back of the page, under the wall posts.

After the Facebook pages were done, each group created a life size cut-out of their character, adding physical features as described in the book. We hung these up in the hallway, along with the Facebook pages. The students also wrote poems about characters from the book, so we hung these up as well. The display looks awesome!  Unfortunately, our classroom is on the top floor – it is only 4th and 5th up that high, so not too many people ever venture up to see it. But we have gotten many compliments from parents and others who have passed by.

Check out the finished products!

In case you are interested, here is the link to my TpT store where I have my Facebook Profile Page for sale: http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Facebook-Profile-Page-Character-Analysis

Can you think of other fun ways to incorporate this into your classroom? I was thinking that it would be fun to do when learning about famous people from history, such as presidents or inventors. Any other ideas??

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 11:52:37

    WOW, Kim, this is an awesome activity. I love Number the Stars–it’s one of my favorite books to use in Lit Circles. I’m glad I found your blog. I’m another Kim!

    Hope you’re ready for the basketball show-down…
    And I hope you’ll visit my blog some time…

    Kim
    Finding JOY in 6th Grade

    Reply

  2. wordsiwouldsay
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 12:17:35

    Thanks!! I love Number the Stars too – obviously 🙂 It has always been one of my favorite books, and I love sharing it with my class each year.

    I LOVE your blog – I have it in my google reading blog list and I get excited when I see an update from you 🙂 So glad you found my blog!

    Go Kentucky!!

    ~Pittsburgh Kim 🙂

    Reply

  3. Tiffany
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 08:57:09

    I love this idea! Do you happen to have a rubric to go along with this activity? Thanks so much!

    Tiffany

    Reply

Leave a Reply

