Facebook Fun!

As I mentioned in my last post, we are currently reading Number the Stars by Lois Lowry. The kids are SO into this book – every day, they beg to read “just one more chapter”!

In order to help my students get a better look at the characters in the novel, they are doing a character analysis in groups. Each group chose a character from the novel to focus on.

Their first task was to create a list of 5-10 personality traits as well as quotes/sentences that supported each trait. They next made a list of physical traits, describing what their character looks like. If it wasn’t talked about much, I had them describe what they THINK their character would look like.

I then explained that they would be creating a mock Facebook profile page for their character – and let me just say, they got SO excited! Most of them know what Facebook is due to a parent or relative having an account, and they thought it was so cool that they would get to make one for someone!

I created a mock Facebook profile page for each group to fill out about their character, which includes information such as birthday/age, relationship status, hometown, favorite tv show/book/movie, about me, and “likes”. It also has spots for two “friends” at the bottom, including their picture, name, and relationship to the character. On the back, there is room for “wall posts” from other characters – I plan to have my students write on each other’s “walls” as their characters. There is also an analysis section, where I will ask the students to write their list of character traits and support from the book.

My students started working on this today and were having so much fun! They were asked to create a rough draft of sorts, so that they knew what they were going to write on the actual page and could copy it neatly. They used what they knew about their character from the book to create the page, and they are looking great so far!

This group is almost done – they just have to go over their words in black pen:

Image

You can check out the page on my TpT site: http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Facebook-Profile-Page-Character-Analysis

Do you do anything like this with your class?? I’d love to hear about it!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lauriesibley
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 07:57:34

    I love this idea! I can just imagine how thrilled your students are to be playing “on facebook!” I’m not teaching right now (and when I did, it was 1st grade), but I pinned this anyway, b/c it’s awesome! :o)

    Reply

  2. wordsiwouldsay
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 12:13:32

    Thanks Laurie! Glad you like the idea, and yes, the kids love it more than I thought they would 🙂 Today we made life size cut-outs of the characters they created a Facebook page for so that we can hang their character next to his/her page. They turned out great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

