Christmas Time is Here…

I can’t believe there are only 2 weekends left until Christmas! Ahhh! There is so much left to do. Normally the hubs and I would bake cookies this weekend, but we have so much going on that there just isn’t time!

But I don’t want to complain because everything we are doing is so fun and I am so blessed by the friends we will be spending time with! Tomorrow is our Franksgiving (aka Friend Thanksgiving) – we are having a few couples over from our Small Group and enjoying a delicious turkey dinner with side dishes prepared by different people in the group. It will be a great way for us to reflect on everything we are thankful for and look forward to the joy of Christmas and the coming of our Savior!

Here in my classroom, we *FINALLY* finished our American Revolution unit – phew! It is definitely a favorite, but is so incredibly long. My kiddos took their 100 point unit test yesterday and ROCKED it! I am so proud of them. This is one of the hardest tests they will take all year, and most got an A or a B! Yahoo! One of the mini essays was the question “Why was the Battle of Saratoga the turning point of the war?” Easy question, as this was one of the most emphasized things in class – it caused the French to see that the Americans could actually win this thing, and they began to provide us with money, weapons, military men, ships, etc. One of my students ended this essay by saying, “Go French!” I thought that was funny considering we were talking about the American Revolution 🙂

My goal of this unit was for them to see how everything worked together to lead to American independence, and without the Lord’s help, we would not have made it through. Looking at the miracles that happened, such as Washington’s horse getting shot out from under him and he survived, or the foggy night that allowed Washington and his troops to safely retreat from New York after a battle, we can see God’s hand in all of it. Pretty amazing!

Wanna see how much you know about the Revolution? Check out my unit test – you’ll be amazed at the knowledge these kids come away with!

A.R. Unit Test

So now we can finally focus on Christmas, right? WRONG! It’s time to spend a week learning about the Constitution and the foundation of our country’s government. Blah. Don’t get me wrong, it’s an important thing to discuss, but at this point I am simply ready to put aside the heavy duty information and focus on advent! We will have a week of instruction before Christmas and finish the rest of the information after returning in January.

But in the midst of learning about our government, we will also be talking about holidays around the world. Each month, the students at our school complete a project that ties into the topic of that month. In November, my kiddos did their wax museum presentation. In December, we learn about holidays around the world, so each student picks a country and researches its holiday traditions.

*BUT* instead of presenting in regular, report format, they create what’s called a “Box Report”. They take the information they learn and put it on the 6 sides of the box! This is a low-key, non-stressful project that allows them to have a little bit of creative fun with it! I allow them to use any size box, though I do provide them with a pattern for a box they can make, and they can decorate their box however they would like to. I’ve had some come in with large cardboard boxes, and others with itty bitty ones – but as long as the information is there, I don’t care how it is presented 🙂 The students then teach the rest of the class about their country’s holiday traditions.

Holiday Box Report – Check out the guidelines that I created.

This is my tree and bulletin board from last year. I hung their boxes on the board after they presented, using either masking tape or push pins.

We also take time to study Hanukkah and its traditions, hence why there are pictures of menorahs on the board. One of the students’ favorite things to do is play the dreidel game ! After playing it once, they always ask to play again. I have a few dreidels here that we use, but I also have a pattern that I found for the kids to make their own.

Here are some of last year’s students playing the dreidel game after talking about the symbols on the dreidel and how to play. [Yes, one boy is in a kilt – he did his box report on Scotland and chose to wear a kilt for his presentation!]

This year we have several Christmas crafts that we will be completing, and I have some new ideas I can’t wait to implement! Thank you, Pinterest 🙂

What does your classroom look like for the holidays? Busy busy busy? Or do you take it easy and just have fun?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 20:35:35

    Hi!

    I thought you would chuckle over my Holiday Blues post!
    http://joyin6th.blogspot.com/2011/12/blue-christmas-didnt-elvis-sing-about.html
    Thankfully, I’ve recovered (see next post!)

    I’m looking forward to reading more from YOUR site!

    Kim
    Finding JOY in 6th Grade

    Reply

Leave a Reply

