Oreo Phases of the Moon

Every September, we study God’s Great Universe. We learn about stars, meteors, comets, asteroids, satellites, the sun, and so much more. But one of my favorite new activities that we do comes when we study the phases of the moon.

This idea came from Pinterest and I couldn’t wait to try it out with my 14 students a few weeks ago – because, seriously, who doesn’t love Oreos?!

I bought two packages of regular Oreos because I wasn’t sure if I was going to have them work individually or with a partner. I ended up having them work with a partner because I felt like they didn’t each need to eat eight Oreos!

After splitting them into groups, I gave each group a paper plate. They wrote “Phases of the Moon” in the middle of the plate and could decorate the edge however they’d like. I passed out eight Oreos to each group and had them arrange the Oreos in a circle around the edge of the plate.

We began talking about each phase of the moon, starting with new moon, when there is no moon in the sky. For this phase, students left the Oreo alone to show the dark sky. For each phase, the students carefully slid one cookie off of the icing and scraped away part of the icing using their fingers while I drew a picture on the board to represent the phase we were discussing. And they just LOVED it! They loved getting covered in icing, they loved eating the extra cookie halves, they loved seeing the phases come to life as we went around the circle, but most of all, they loved eating the Oreos and globs of icing that had been scraped off!

Because I had put the kids into groups of two, they each got to eat 4 Oreos, which was more than enough ūüôā Some of them took turns scraping the icing and eating the cookies, others decided to do four at a time; either way, everything was split pretty equally.

The one thing I would change if I were to do this again would be to have the kids write the names of the phases along the edge of the plate as we went, but this is a minor thing that can easily be fixed for next year. And there most definitely WILL be a next year for this activity!

 

Here are two examples of the completed phases – pretty cool, right?!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jacqueline
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 21:26:51

    Love the blog! I adapted this lesson for my second graders, with only 4 of the moon phases. It went over very well. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

